top of page

List of Universities in Nigeria

Nigeria is home to many universities, each with its own strengths and areas of expertise.

  • University of Ibadan: Founded in 1948, the University of Ibadan is the oldest and most prestigious university in Nigeria. It is located in the city of Ibadan and offers undergraduate, graduate, and postgraduate programs in various fields.

  • Covenant University: Established in 2002, Covenant University is a private Christian university located in Ota, Ogun State. It is known for its strong emphasis on entrepreneurship and innovation.

  • Obafemi Awolowo University: Formerly known as the University of Ife, Obafemi Awolowo University is a federal university located in Ile-Ife, Osun State. It is known for its strong programs in the arts, humanities, and sciences.

  • University of Lagos: Founded in 1962, the University of Lagos is located in the city of Lagos and is known for its strong programs in the social sciences, law, and business.

  • Ahmadu Bello University: Founded in 1962, Ahmadu Bello University is located in Zaria, Kaduna State. It is known for its strong programs in agriculture, engineering, and the sciences.

  • Federal University of Technology, Akure: Established in 1981, the Federal University of Technology, Akure is located in Akure, Ondo State. It is known for its strong programs in science, technology, and engineering.

  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka: Established in 1960, the University of Nigeria, Nsukka is located in Nsukka, Enugu State. It is known for its strong programs in the arts, sciences, and engineering.

  • Bayero University Kano: Established in 1977, Bayero University Kano is located in Kano, Kano State. It is known for its strong programs in the arts, sciences, and business

  • Lagos State University: Founded in 1983, Lagos State University is located in Ojo, Lagos State. It is known for its strong programs in the arts, sciences, and business.

  • University of Ilorin: Established in 1975, the University of Ilorin is located in Ilorin, Kwara State. It is known for its strong programs in the sciences, medicine, and engineering.

These universities have established themselves as leading institutions of higher learning in Nigeria and the African continent as a whole. They offer a wide range of programs and attract students from across the country and beyond.

This is only a List / Database of Institutions

  1. Abia State Polytechnic

  2. Abia State University

  3. ABTI American University of Nigeria

  4. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University

  5. Adamawa State University

  6. Adekunle Ajasin University

  7. Adeleke University

  8. Adeyemi College of Education

  9. Afe Babalola University

  10. African University of Science and Technology

  11. Ahmadu Bello University

  12. Ajayi Crowther University

  13. Akanu Ibiam Federal Polytechnic, Unwana

  14. Akwa Ibom State University

  15. Al-Hikmah University

  16. Al-Qalam University, Katsina

  17. Ambrose Alli University

  18. Anambra State University of Science and Technology

  19. Auchi Polytechnic

  20. Babcock University

  21. Bauchi State University, Gadau

  22. Bayero University Kano

  23. Baze University Abuja

  24. Bells University of Technology

  25. Benson Idahosa University

  26. Benue State University

  27. Bingham University

  28. Bowen University

  29. Caleb University

  30. Caritas University

  31. College of Education Ikere

  32. College of Education Oju

  33. Covenant University

  34. Crawford University

  35. Crescent University

  36. Cross River University of Science and Technology

  37. Delta State Polytechnic Oghara

  38. Delta State University

  39. Ebonyi State University

  40. Ekiti State University

  41. Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences

  42. Enugu State University of Science and Technology

  43. Federal College Of Education (Technical), Akoka

  44. Federal Polytechnic Bauchi, Nigeria

  45. Federal University of Petroleum Resources

  46. Federal University of Technology, Akure

  47. Federal University of Technology, Minna

  48. Federal University of Technology, Owerri

  49. Federal University Otuoke, Bayelsa State

  50. First African Distance Learning University (FADLIU)

  51. Fountain University

  52. Godfrey Okoye University

  53. Godfrey Okoye University

  54. Gombe State University

  55. Ibrahim Babangida University

  56. Igbinedion University

  57. Imo State University

  58. Institute of School Administration and Management

  59. Joseph Ayo Babalola University

  60. Kaduna State University

  61. The Kano State University of Technology Wudil

  62. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology

  63. Kogi State University

  64. Kwararafa University

  65. Kwara State Polytechnic

  66. Kwara State University

  67. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology

  68. Lagos City Polytechnic

  69. Lagos State Polytechnic

  70. Lagos State University

  71. Landmark University

  72. Lead City University of Ibadan

  73. Madonna University

  74. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture

  75. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola

  76. Nasarawa State University Keffi

  77. National Open University of Nigeria

  78. Niger Delta University

  79. Nigerian Defence Academy

  80. Nigerian Turkish Nile University

  81. Nnamdi Azikiwe University

  82. Novena University

  83. Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife

  84. Obong University

  85. Oduduwa University

  86. Olabisi Onabanjo University

  87. Ondo State University of Science and Technology

  88. Osun State University

  89. Pan-African University

  90. Paul University

  91. Plateau State University

  92. Polytechnic Ibadan

  93. Redeemer's University

  94. Renaissance University

  95. Rhema University

  96. Ritman University

  97. Rivers State University of Science and Technology

  98. Salem University

  99. Samuel Adegboyega University

  100. Sokoto State University

  101. Tai Solarin University of Education

  102. Tansian University

  103. Taraba State University

  104. The Achievers University

  105. The Federal Polytechnic Idah

  106. The Federal Polytechnic Offa

  107. Umaru Musa Yar'Adua University

  108. University of Abuja

  109. The University of Agriculture Abeokuta

  110. The University of Agriculture Makurdi

  111. University of Benin

  112. University of Calabar

  113. University of Ibadan

  114. University of Ilorin

  115. University of Jos

  116. University of Lagos

  117. University of Maiduguri

  118. University of Mkar

  119. University of Nigeria

  120. University of Portharcourt

  121. University of Uyo

  122. Usmanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto

  123. Veritas University

  124. Wellspring University

  125. Wesley University of Science and Technology

  126. Western Delta University

  127. Yaba College of Technology

  128. Yobe State University


Merely appearing on this list does not indicate endorsement by ECLBS, nor does it imply any evaluation, approval, or assessment of the caliber of the article by the ECLBS Board of Directors...

bottom of page